Change of Plans

Yesterday, I received some news that really affect my plans here in Denmark. I found out that my stay here is being cut short by no less than two months.

But, let’s start from the beginning. As you all know (or at least I imagine you know,) I’m living in Denmark as an au pair. My host mom is Brazilian and my host dad is Danish. They have two beautiful kids, a 3-year-old boy and a 6-year-old girl. I met my host mom through the English school where I worked at in Curitiba. She sent an email to the school looking for someone who spoke English and would be interested in living abroad. I had never thought about being an au pair, but I ended up getting in touch with her and after two years of emails, meeting up and lots of paperwork, here I am.

Anyway, when I came here, my host mom told me she would be going to Brazil in February or March 2013 to do a sort of exchange at a pediatric hospital in Curitiba (she’s a cardiologist.) Since there was a long strike at the university I study at and my classes for the first semester of 2013 would only start in April, I was planning on staying here until March, with no hurry to return to Brazil. But, yesterday my host mom found out that she would have to anticipate her trip, to JANUARY!

As part of our contract, she must provide me with a ticket back home and yesterday we looked into that. Since she was buying the ticket with her miles, there weren’t many options for dates to Curitiba, there was December 31st (imagine spending the New Year in the air!) or January 16th. But, I started thinking that I’m not ready to go back to Brazil. I’m not ready to quit this quiet life, to stop traveling and going to new places, to back to reality. So, I talked to her about the possibility of buying the ticket to Miami, where I have a lot of childhood friends, and from there I would pay for a ticket to Curitiba. That’s what we did. My ticket has been purchased for January 6th to Miami, with no return (yet) to Brazil.

I’m still quite lost, still trying to process everything. I’ve already felt like I was in shock, I’ve cried, I’ve laughed, I’ve jumped for joy. The fact that I only have 3 and not 5 months to enjoy this country and travel around Europe won’t leave my head. Only three more months with these kids that I’ve come to love so much. Only three months with the wonderful people I’ve met here and for whom I’ve come to care for immensely. Only three more months to admire the landscape of this city that I love so much. But, on the other hand, I’m going to start a new adventure, I’m going to visit friends that I haven’t seen in four years, hug people I love and enjoy the Florida summer, the beach, the American treats I’ve missed so much.

My head is still very confused. I need to reorganize myself and think about what I want to do in the next months here, the places I want to ( and can, in terms of money and time) visit inside Denmark and around Europe. I need to figure out until what date I will stay in the USA and how I’m going to pay for my return to Brazil, if I’m going to be able to find some work and travel while I’m there.

I’m sure that there is a reason for this shift in things and that in the end everything will more than work out, but I’m still trying to process it all. Let’s see what the future will bring.

6 thoughts on “Change of Plans

  1. Key West Part II the Sequel!!
    Seriously though, I’ll be glad to have you back in the states. I miss you! This is bound to be just a step on your journey. The connections you made with your host family will not be forgotten, and you may find yourself back in Denmark or referred to another family! Chin up!

    Like

  2. Hey babe. I looooooooooove your blog, I loooooooove you, I miss you very much, don´t you worry, everything happens for a reason, and you deserve the best, I´m sure that you’ll lead that opportunity to a great outcome. We are looking foward to have you back home, but until then, enjoy the moments and have a wonderfull time. Love, love, love…. ;o)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

